Dear School Board Members Carrie Olson, Jennifer Bacon, Angela Cobián, Tay Anderson, Brad Laurvick, Barbara O'Brien, and Scott Balderman

George Floyd was murdered by a white cop, just a week after Armaud Arbery was murdered by white supremecists while running and Breonna Taylor was murdered by the Louisville police department while in her own bed. We must continue to commit to dismantling systems of white supremacy in our criminal justice system, our schools and our society as a whole. The calls for change and justice must be met with real and concrete action- and a commitment to dismantling those systems within our schools.

We are supportive of Director Bacon and Director Anderson's proposal to end the contract between the Denver Police Department and the district that places armed police officers in our schools (SROs). Denver Public Schools has 17 SRO's operating at 17 out of the 207 schools in the district. 70% of tickets and arrests in DPS were at schools with an assigned police officer. (518 of the 744 total tickets/arrests were at a school with an SRO). 412 of those students were Latino, 122 were Black, and 99 were white. Students of color are disproportionately impacted by discipline systems and students in schools with SROs are more likely to receive tickets and be arrested compared to schools that do not have them. Our school systems should be investing in nurses, mental-health professionals and restorative practices, not police in our schools.

8 out of 10 white students in DPS are meeting college ready expectations whereas 4 out of 10 students of color are. Students of color deserve access to a life of opportunity and it the responsibility of this district to ensure that is the case- which means holding yourselves accountable for monitoring student progress and access to opportunity of student of color.

We, the team at TEN, alongside the 3,000 community members who have signed on below call upon this board to confront issues of inequity in our schools and end the school to prison pipeline. We ask this district to end the policing in our schools and commit to transparent accountability on how well this district is keeping students safe and preparing students of color for a life of opportunity.



Michelle Saab Ursa Acree Stanisha Evans Rana LaPine Zander Aklilu Hannah Ewert-Krocker Michael Landecker Nicole Saab Leila Saleh Alex Anderson Melissa Fife Clare Lenz Reece Salnas Beniamin Andreas Kelsev Forbord Ashlev Logan Allie Schlosser Paul Andrews Melina Garcia Rvan Lolar Kasey Schumacher Andrew Appel Sarah Garratt Charles Long **Edward Scott** Eleni Artemas Kevin Gassaway Erin Lona Kaitlin Shinn Kavla Arvizo Alisha Geiwitz Jamie Long Emma Simpkins Chara Barclay Alexandra Georgiadis Ari Looney Emma Sindelar Sage Gilbert Lea Baron Gregory Lozano Lucy Smigiel Pantea Beigi Christopher Gombeski Jonathan Luce Ariel Smith Esther Gonzalez Bethany Belcher Abigail Lyons Erin Smith Sabrina Berntsen Marisol Gonzalez Lucas M Tayler Smith Adia Berry Sara Gordon Alexandra Male Elizabeth Spoering Carla Biskey Cindy Gothberg Madison Manning Lorrie Spoering Sarah Booth Sarah Greengross Zackary Marshall Valentine Sporre Savannah Brackman Lauren Griner Jeani McAleer Maggie Stamets David Bradley Nate Gruendemann Rachel McClanahan Ryann Starks Kristen Stimmler Claire Bresnahan Kyle Grundy Madeline McCombs Sierra Stippich Emma Brooks Kat Gruschow Katherine McOwen Ali Stone Amy Brown Elise Gust Kristina Mendez Russell Stone Joseph BuAbbud Molly Hackett Angela Metcalf Harper Strickland Colin Miller Cassie Burley Lauren Haislev **Jevon Sutton** Ronni Monster Lauren Burton Melanie Hane Jillian Swanson Jayne Caldwell Karlina Harney Ninette Mora Justin Swanstrom Caitlin Calhoun Brvn Harris Megan Morales Cassidy Swart Jessica Carducci Joan Harvey Elise Morgan **Emily Tella** Kelly Casey **Brittany Hass** Allie Morris Ethan Thacher **Emilia Cassidy** Jay Havranek **Emmalie Moseley** Helen Thompson Hannah Chapman Dani Herman Verinique Moua Sarah Tie Alissa Chesis Maggie Hernandez Lauri Murphy Patrick Tiffany Whitney Childs Caitlin Hessee Madeline Nall Jeremy Tinianow Cameron Chorpenning Lily Hetherington Savanna Neb Patricia Trujillo Christopher Chorpenning Rachelle Trujillo **Sutton Higgins** Alec Neita Maggie Tucker Ashlan Christensen Millie Hobgood Victoria Nishball STEPHEN VAN DOREN Helenna Chun Paige Hoesly Clare Nolan Molly Veliz Talia Cioth Tanva Hoke Isaac Novak Jakob Vendegna Gretchen Clancev Margot Holmes Andrew O'Brien Karolina Villagrana Jason Combs Lauren Holsombeck Christian O'Neil Anne Wave Allen Cowgill Stephanie Hum **Emily Occhiuto** Ariel Werbel Colleen Crowley Louisa Hunt Kelly Okoye Leland West Paula Cuevas Alejandra Infantes Rafael Orona Brady White Allan Cutler Caitlin Owens Karen Jefferson Corey Wiggins Estrella Damian Kyle Johnson Rachel Peoples Quynh Wills Danielle DeSalvo Zach Johnson Riley Peterson Elliott Wilson Danielle DeSantis Stephanie Johnson-Wall Nicole Pierski Abbey Winter Ana Diaz Andrea Jones Jennifer Piper Charles Witwer Sarah Dieter Juliana Kagan Michael Porter Josh Woods Leah Doan Sarah Kane Jennifer Pritchett Bailey Yntema Carol Zapalowski Natalya Dodson Courtney Karol Sophia Przybylo James calvet Beatrice Dolan Jensen Keller Brandon Putre Heather ceballos Alex Doran Chelsea Kestler Mark Radtke lucy davis Sarah Dougherty-Altieri Taylor Kilian Elizabeth Rafert Abigail fanara Megan Downing Andi Kirk Karima Rahario katelin hesketh Lucy Klein Catherine DuBois Isreli Reichman Jared hood Jen Klink Daniel Eggleston Lucas Reilly Nicole kaiser Ben Eichholz Justin Koch Mackenzie Rinaldi Sloan krakovsky Aleea Eick Alison Koff Tiffany Rode Monica martinez Julia Endicott Kelly Kogelmann Garrett Rose Yolanda ortiz Marcea Ennamorato Claudia Kouakou Francesca Rubin Jenna scott TeRay Esquibel MaryEllen Krah Jessica S Tania van pelt Scott Esserman Allison Krawiec **Emily Scheler** Aimee walsh